Modi Cabinet Reshuffle: 9 new faces in Modi cabinet


New Delhi, 3 September(Wishav Warta): Prime Minister Narendra Modi reshuffled his cabinet today 9 new faces were given the minister portfolios. He revamps his Council of Ministers for better efficiency with an eye on the 2019 general elections. Among the new inductees are two former bureaucrats, one retired diplomat and an ex-police commissioner an indication of the Prime Minister’s focus on professionalism and administrative experience. President Ram Nath Kovind administered the oath to 13 ministers in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s third rejig to his Council of Ministers, on Sunday, at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Those who got a promotion and were sworn in are Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, power minister Piyush Goyal, minister of state at the ministry of commerce and industry Nirmala Sitharaman and minister of state for parliamentary affairs Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi.

Two of the nine new ministers sworn in – former foreign service officer Hardeep Puri and former IAS officer K J Alphons – are not members of Parliament (MP). The other seven who join Prime Minister Modi’s council of ministers are Karnataka MP Anantkumar Hegde, former home secretary and Arrah MP Raj Kumar Singh, Jodhpur MP Gajendra Singh, former Mumbai police commissioner and Baghpat MP Satya Pal Singh, Rajya Sabha MP from Uttar Pradesh Shiv Pratap Shukla, Buxar MP Ashwini Kumar Chaubey and Tikamgarh MP Virendra Kumar.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here