Karnataka Assembly elections to be held on May 12, counting set for May 15


New Delhi:  The Karnataka assembly  elections will be held on May 12, and counting of votes will be held May 15, the Election Commission (EC) announced today.


That means the model code of conduct will also come into force in the state immediately. The EC also said that April 24 will be the last date to file nominations and April 27 will be the last date for withdrawal of candidature.


The southern state is currently ruled by the Congress. In the upcoming elections, 224 seats are up for grabs. The term of the current Assembly ends May 28.


The previous assembly polls were held on May 5 in 2013 in a single phase, with 2,948 candidates in the fray. The state witnessed 71.45% polling back then.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here