Gurdaspur Lok Sabha bypoll today


Gurdaspur, 11 October(Wishav Warta): Polling for the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha seat today, candidates faith will be locked in voting machines. This will be a test for the popularity of the six months old Congress government in Punjab. On the other side SAD-BJP alliance seeks revival in the state after crushing defeat in Vidhan Sabha elections. The seat fell vacant after he demise of Gurdaspur MP Vinod Khanna of BJP in April. This is seen as triangular fight between Congress, SAD-BJP and AAP. Congress has fielded its state president Sunil Jakhar, the BJP has fielded businessman Swaran Singh Salaria. The opposition party in Vidhan Sabha AAP has put forward Major General Suresh Khajuria(retd). As per sources this is gona be close competition between Jakhar and Salaria in Gurdaspur. 15.22 lakh voters will decide the faith of assembly, voting time will be 8 am to 5pm, 1781 poling stations is made in the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha assembly for people to cast vote. To maintain law and order during poling 30 companies of paramilitary forces and 7 thousand Punjab Police personnels will gaurd the assembly. Election Commission has issued the order to allow voters to use alternative identity card to cast vote. 9 Vidhan Sabha constituencies fall under the Gurdaspur Lok Sabha assembly Sujanpur, Bhoa, Pathankot, Dinanagar, Gurdaspur, Qadian, Batala, Fatehgarh Churian and Dera Baba Nanak, Congress has won 5 out of 7 seat, SAD-BJP managed to win 2 in Vidhan Sabha elections.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here