TMC sweeps seven civic bodies in Bengal, BJP a distant second, Left wiped out

Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee's Assembly election campaign rally at Jitu Jhuri in Purulia on Monday. Express photo by Subham Dutta. 28.03.16

West Bengal, 17 August: Trinamool Congress sweeps Municipality elections that went to the polls at seven civic bodies in West Bengal on August 13, The CPI(M) failed to win even a single ward out of the 148. The ruling party swept the polls held at Dhupguri, Haldia, Panskura, Durgapur, Cooper’s Camp, Nalhati and Buniyadpur municipalities. The BJP emerged second in the race, although with just six seats, while the Left parties put up a dismal show in the electoral contest preceding the crucial 2018 panchayat polls. The Congress failed to win even a single seat in the polls.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here